Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome!

Author Topic: The love/hate relationship that is World of Warcraft.  (Read 7070 times)

Mark

• Legendary Fruitcake
  • Administrator
  • Fruit-tastic
    • CoopGamer.com
The love/hate relationship that is World of Warcraft.
« on: April 06, 2010, 01:09:15 PM »
Tina and I have been playing WoW off and on since early 2005.  It seems to be a never ending cycle of getting burnt out after a couple of months, leaving for a while, missing it, and getting back in.

I really loved this game back in the early "vanilla" days.  The trek to level 60 was really an adventure full of trials and triumphs.  My wife by my side and Mickee as well through roughly most of it.  Tina, the little gnome warrior that had trouble finding the "taunt" key.  Mark, the fat dwarf priest that used the soulstone immediately in an instance not realizing the mobs would still aggro him from a mile away.  And Mickee the snyde gnome warlock that put up with our noobness with a melancholy /sigh and an inspiring /train from time to time.

Anyway, as the game grew and we grew, things changed - for the worse.  I think there's a transition point where you go from mark to smark (smart mark).  It's a term used in pro wrestling.  Like when you're still naive and really believe that the Undertaker rose from the grave and all that stuff.  Then you realize it's fake.  Then you start reading about the behind the scenes stories about the guys.  Stuff that makes them just normal (and often sad) people.  It's never the same once you cross that line.